On my bedside table: Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner

Fly-Away-Home book cover

I love reading. It’s one of my favourite past times. I love how it can take you to another world and you can completely escape any stress you have in your life. I find it very relaxing.

On my bedside table is a series where I review a book I’ve read in the last month.

This month is Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner.

Jennifer is the also the author of In Her ShoesGood in Bed, Little Earthquakes and Goodnight Nobody, to name a few.

Having high hopes due to the previous books, I was slightly let down by this book. It just didn’t grab me. I will admit, reviews for this book haven’t all been glowing, but I like to give it a try for myself first. Everyone has a different opinion.

Fly Away Home tells the story of senator, Richard Woodruff, caught in a sex scandal, and how this impacts his wife Sylvie – who dropped her legal career to be Richard’s political aide – and their two daughters.

24-year-old Lizzie, Woodruff’s youngest daughter, is a recovering addict trying to get her life on track with a job and a relationship. She takes the opportunity to help her now helpless dad take care of himself, in some sort of attempt to prove she is not the drop kick daughter anymore.

Older sister Diana is a doctor in the hospital ER and is trapped in her unhappy loveless (her anyway) marriage. She has an affair with a younger guy and hides that she has a son from him. When she wants to leave her husband, she doesn’t think she should be the one kicked of the house and then her fling finds out she has a son and ends it leaving Diana losing out all round.

All three women move in to Sylvie’s childhood beach house to wallow and self-heal with running, cooking and resting in bed hiding a pregnancy.

“Sometimes the worst thing that happens to you, the thing you think you can’t survive…it’s the thing that makes you better than you used to be.” – Fly Away Home, Jennifer Weiner.

Sylvie was a weak character that I just thought was kind of pathetic. She didn’t do anything with her life despite being an educated lawyer. She unrealistically learnt to cook over night as her therapy and rekindled a romance with her high school fling when she moved to the beach house. Her high power judge of a mother does not approve of anything Sylvie does. Cliche or what?

The story is told chapter about by each of the women which is actually a nice break from the character you were just reading about. I found the characters to be same old same old and could predict what was going to happen throughout.

I finished it because I wanted to see if it was going to get any better. Not really. I suppose a pro is that you don’t have to think too much when you’re reading it.

You can read the first chapter of Fly Away Home here and see if you’d like to give it a go. Like I say, just because the reviewer didn’t like it, doesn’t mean you won’t.

Emma xOn my

Leave a Reply

