2015 Oscars fashion recap: Best and worst dressed

Every year I go on MySky and record every E! Live from the Red Carpet for all the award shows. My sister and I always have something to say about what everyone is wearing, so much so I think we would be great additions on E!’s Fashion Police.

The Academy Awards though is always the favourite, it really is the night of all nights for the film industry.

Here are my favourite picks of the night:

Dakota Johnson in Saint Laurent. Wow, she looks great in one shade! I love the pulled back hair, simple make up and the silver shoulder. So stunning.

Channing Tatum and Jenna Dewan Tatum

When you have an accessory as good looking as Channing of course you would make my best dressed list. Jenna Dewan Tatum looks exquisite in this Zahair Murad gown. Her hair is perfection as is the make up – that pop of orange against the white! Love love love!

Jennifer Lopez

She looks like a princess, wow. This is one of my favourite dresses I have ever seen Jennifer Lopez wear. I love the pink lip with this too, it really takes it to the next level.

Rosamund Pike

Rosamund Pike stuns in this Givenchy gown, The pulled back hair is so chic and really puts the emphasis on that gorg dress and her beautiful face.

Reese Witherspoon

Reese Witherspoon would of course wear Tom Ford. She has been nominated at all the award nights including the Oscars, so she needs to look the best. I love her simple make up and jewels and the dress fits her perfectly.

My Best Dressed at the 2015 Oscars is…

Anna Kendrick

Anna Kedrick! This Thakoon gown is A-MA-ZING.  I love the simplicity of it, the colour and the way it hits the ground. Her up do, well if I knew how to do my hair like that, I might wear it to work everyday, it is so beautiful. Anna wears only a ring for her jewels which is the perfect decision to let the dress speak for itself. The nude nail and the make up… ahhh!

…and my not so favourite looks of the night:

Julianne Moore

Julianne Moore has been killing it this awards season but on the biggest award night she goes with this? The Chanel dress is shapeless and the flowers are just in all the wrong places. Congratulations on the Oscar, well deserved, but I really wish you had gone for something else.

Will.i.am

Umm Will.I.Am, what are you doing? For one, it’s the wrong event! This would be have been better at the Grammys. I can not get over his leg looking like a prosthetic under his pants! The jacket needs better tailoring and the hat… well, he looks like a train conductor!

Lady Gaga is wearing Azzedine Alaia, the first time the designer has made a dress for the Oscars. However, what the heck are those gloves? Gloves are trying to make a comeback after Amal Clooney wore them at the Golden Globes. They weren’t great then and they aren’t great now. I think Gaga must have forgotten to take the gloves off after helping in the kitchen before the carpet. I would have thought it was great otherwise, but this is classic Lady Gaga.

Nicole Kidman

Nicole Kidman is wearing Louis Vuitton. I really don’t know what to say about this dress. Who thought that the red belt would look good against this yellow and pink ombre style dress? Pink and red in this case, are not friends. She looks like a fish with all the scales on her and the bottom of the dress could pass off as her tail. The clutch looks like she brought her childhood diary along with her, key and all. The hair is really quite lovely though, I like the shorter cut on her.

My Worst Dressed of the 2015 Academy Awards…

Marion Cotillard

It looks like she needs her full saggy nappy changed. Marion Cotillard in Dior Couture.

What were your fashion hit and misses from the Oscars? I can’t wait to see what the Fashion Police have to say about these ones.

Emma x

Images from Popsugar.com and E!
Leave a Reply

