Hello + Pancake Tuesday!

Image: ohsolovelybolg.com
Image: ohsolovelyblog.com

Thinking of a first blog post is not easy. In fact I have been thinking about what to write for the past two days. I wanted to make it really exciting to capture attention but also for it to reveal a bit about what my blog is about all and what you can expect in the future. Instagram has been a large source of my inspiration but nothing seemed to quite fit the “first blog post” bill. Until today. Today is Pancake Tuesday! I thought, “perfect!” I love pancakes and I have heaps of recipes that I can share with you from some of my favourite blogs.

This also ties in with one of the reasons I started the blog, Lent (more on that below). I am not religious but my  Aunty said something that stuck with me when discussing my need to start a blog. I didn’t know what to blog about or how to do one and who would even read it.

Lent was coming up and and she said that instead of giving up coffee and chocolate she was going to take up meditating everyday because as she said:

“It is harder to bring something into your life than it is to take it out.”

I have been meaning to start a blog for a long time now but just never got around to it, and she suggested Lent to be the perfect time. So it’s decided, for Lent I will bring blogging into my life. Even if I am the only who reads it. A blog post everyday until the end of Lent which starts tomorrow and goes until April 2.

On with the Pancakey goodness!

Pancake Tuesday,  also known as Shrove Tuesday or Mardi Gras (French for “Fat Tuesday”),  is in February or March, depending on when Easter is, before Ash Wednesday (the first day of Lent). Shrove Tuesday is celebrated in some countries by consuming pancakes. In my opinion, everyone should take it upon themselves to have pancakes on Shrove Tuesday, any excuse is a good excuse!

Pancakes were eaten on this day because it is said to be the last day of indulgence before sacrificing for the next 40 days. Mardi Gras refers to this last night of eating richer, fatty foods before fasting for Lent.

Here are 5 pancake recipes from my favourite food blogs:

1. Choc-Banana Pancakes – The Whole DailyChoc Banana Pancakes - gluten-free, sugar-free, dairy-free

 2. Choc Chia and 3. Orange Maple Pancakes – Move Nourish Believe

pancanje2

4.  Coconut Flour Pancakes – Petite Kitchen

5. Chocolate Chip Strawberry Pancakes – The Fit Foodie

Chocolate Chip Strawberry Pancakes

What are you going to bring into your life for the next 40 days? Let’s do it together. Have a happy Pancake Tuesday!

Emma x

5 thoughts on “Hello + Pancake Tuesday!”

Leave a Reply

