26 cauli power recipes

Image: http://daily-dose.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/cauliflower-1.jpg

I’m just going to put it out there, I LOVE CAULIFLOWER! I eat it most nights for dinner. In the past it was just simply steamed florets next to whatever else was on the plate. The only time it ever got jazzed up was when it had cheese sauce over it (oh my goodness, YUM)! Don’t get me wrong, cauliflower just plain steamed is great but because I try to eat cleanly and not out of packets I have had to stay away from my favourite cheese sauce. For this reason, I have been looking for alternative ways to jazz up my cauliflower.

BuzzFeed always seems to be a great source of entertain and ideas for me. It didn’t disappoint when I came across the article 23 Insanely Clever Ways To Eat Cauliflower Instead of Carbs. With this new source of inspiration, I thought I would share with you three cauliflower recipes I have tried out after finding them in the blog.

 

Why is Cauliflower so great?

Cauliflower is a member of the cruciferous vegetables along with broccoli, brussels sprouts and cabbage.

Cauliflower contains folate, which your body needs to form red blood cells, and help fight kidney and liver disease. Cauliflower also contains manganese, a mineral that contributes to energy production, muscle contraction and strong bones as well as regulating insulin levels. Eating cauliflower also boosts your intake of fibre and protein. These help you to feel satiated after a meal.

The vitamin C found in cauliflower is as an essential nutrient to support and heal tissues within the body, especially connective tissues like as tendons, ligaments, blood vessels and cartilage as well as teeth and gums. Vitamin C even boosts the immune system and helps to fight heart disease!

Vitamin K is another essential nutrient provided by cauliflower. Vitamin K aids bone formation and blood clotting and helps to transport calcium around the body. Being a fat soluble vitamin it needs to link up with a fat cell to be transported around. For this reason it is key that you are eating enough healthy fats in your diet.

A small disclaimer before the recipes: Cauliflower does not taste like potato! Don’t think this is going to taste the same, it isn’t. It is going to taste great while making the meal lighter. Let me just say this again… It will not taste like mashed potatoes.

  1. Creamy Cauliflower Mash – PopSugar Fitness
  1. Turmeric Cinnamon Roasted Cauliflower – Mangia PaleoIMG_6336
  1. Cauliflower Hummus – Grass Fed KitchenGrass Fed Kitchen | Cauliflower Hummus (no bean)

There you go, 26 cauliflower recipes to get you falling in love with this under-appreciated vegetable. If someone has a clean cheese sauce recipe for my cauli, I am still on the lookout for the one for me!

 

Nutrition References:
Gramberg-Peklivanas, C. (2002). Power drinks: Natural energy in a glass. London: Carlton
Cauliflower Vs. Broccoli Nutrition | LIVESTRONG.COM. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.livestrong.com/article/259412-cauliflower-vs-broccoli-nutrition/
Leave a Reply

